Nationals of Croatia

Croatia joined the EU on 1 July 2013.

Nationals of Croatia enjoy much more limited free movement rights in the UK compared to the previous EU accession states referred to as A8 (Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Slovakia and Slovenia) and A2 (Bulgaria and Romania).

New entrants from Croatia are required to be sponsored under Tier 2 or 5 regimes. No restrictions apply to the individuals who have been working legally and lawfully in the UK prior to the accession or were from the immigration controls.

There are three types of registration certificates that apply to Croatians:

  • blue – confirms unrestricted access to employment;
  • purple – confirms permission to work for a particular employer or specific employment category;
  • yellow – is to confirm the exercise of the EU Treaty rights as a student, self employed or self sufficient person in the UK.
Saule Voluckyte
Blog Topic Categories
%d bloggers like this: